GOAL!

2017 is shaping up to be big year for me personally, so I sat down and I started writing down a list of goals I need to accomplish to make this year successful. As I was writing my list I was realizing that a lot goes into making goals mentally and physically achievable.

 

Believe in yourself:

It may be overwhelming at first to think of what your goals are, or what you want out of life whether it be daily, weekly, yearly, or for life. It’s even harder to think of the steps you need to take to make it to your goal(s).

Make goals achievable:

I find that I have a better chance of reaching my goal if I make an overall goal and then break it into a smaller goals with steps to make sure I am successful. I

f my goal is to lose 10 pounds in a month I will make that my big goal, but I will write in my weakly and daily goals. 2 pounds a week, might be my weekly goal. Making it to spin class or eating clean might be a daily goal. Stepping stone goals make sure I don’t, “bite off more than I can chew”, making goals more manageable and giving me more rewards fueling my drive to stay on track!

Write it down:

Find a sticky not, a calendar, a notebook, or vision board, just write it down. Seeing your goals is the first step to creating a plan.

Put it where you can see it:

It isn’t enough to just write it down…you need to put your goals somewhere you can see it….everyday! Does that mean you set an alarm on your phone to remind you to drink water? Or put on your calendar your bills so you don’t over spend?  Stick those post it notes on your mirror to remind yourself of your goals.

Work on your goals EVERDAY:

Now the real work starts. Time to put your plan to the test. Make an effort to work on your goals everyday, even if it is just a check in to see where you are in regards to reaching your goal. Checking in on a goal is the best way to make necessary changes to a goal maybe you need to give yourself more time to complete a goal, maybe you need to add a goal, ect. ect..

Get a buddy:

Grab a buddy that will help you stay on track. A person who can hold you accountable, encourage you, and most importantly help celebrate your success.

Rewards:

Nothing has been more true then a quote I was told when working on not eating out of boredom…,” Don’t reward yourself with food, you are not a dog”. It may sound a little harsh, but it is so true. Not saying that you can’t make food a goal, just make sure it is worth the work. Turn your food goals into a fancy restaurant date, not the jelly beans sitting in your cabinet that you could get up and get at anytime if you really wanted too.  Make your rewards something that will really make you work. Weight loss goals might mean a new workout outfit. Saving money might mean a vacation or new makeup. Set a reward system and get to work!

Failing:

I know you are wandering when this post is going to end…well I promise you are at the end. Now there is a reason failure is at the end and it’s not foreshadowing that you will end in failure. It simply is my last thought to setting and reaching your goals.

I have set many a goal and failed many a goal, but in my 22 years of life I have learned that failure in not failure. There is giving up and there is succeeding. Basically if I couldn’t reach a goal I would just give up and quit, that to me is “failing”. Not reaching a goal or realizing that my goals have changed and reworking my goals and plans is success. Keep the positivity in your setting your goals because failure is not an option!

Happy New Year!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

